I’m not politically inclined but I know a great speech when I hear one. Michelle Obama’s speech at the Democratic National Convention is the type of speech that moves the good in all of us, inspires us to make a difference and be better. It’s a speech that makes us focus on everything that’s good but aware of the bad and makes us strive to make things better for tomorrow.

Here are a couple of quotes from Michelle Obama’s speech  “I wake up every morning in a house that was built by slaves. And I’ve watched my daughters, two beautiful intelligent black young women, playing with their dogs on the White House lawn. And because of Hillary Clinton, my daughters and all of our sons and daughters, now take for granted that a woman can be president of the United States,”

And in the quote below Michelle Obama is referring to how she and the President handled the crazy accusations about their father and such with their daughters.

“How we urged them to ignore those who question their father’s citizenship or faith. How we insist that the hateful language they hear from public figures on TV does not represent the true spirit of this country. How we explain that when someone is cruel or acts like a bully, you don’t stoop to their level. Our motto is, when they go low, we go high.”

This is one of the best orations I’ve heard in a long time, spoken eloquently by a mother from her heart, you can listen to it here.

